A Kindle, a Kindle, I have a Kindle…

I am SO excited – I just got my Kindle delivered today!  I opened it up and ooohed and aaaahed over the lovely glare-free screen, the sleek buttons and the cute little black leatherette carry case that came with it.

But after my initial rush of Kindle-adrenaline, I got to thinking. Hmmm – I could actually read BLOGS on my Kindle! Wow – what a thought!

I’m not exactly sure yet how to read blogs on my Kindle, but I know it can be done and I am going to investigate that, dear readers, and let you know what I find out.

For those who are already super-duper Kindle/blog saavy, please please feel free to leave helpful comments and suggestions – I can use them!

4 Responses

  1. Yes! You can subscribe to blogs on your kindle. However, the blogs are limited to a subset vetted by Amazon, available through the Kindle store, and most have a subscription fee.

    You can use the web browser on the Kindle to access any web/blog site. Have fun!

    • It’s perplexing to me that Amazon charges a subscription fee for content that is already free on the internet. Interesting.

      But obviously, if I access the browser on the Kindle I can go to anything to read on the fly.

      For my own testing/start up – I went into the Kindle free eBooks area and downloaded about a dozen different things like short stories by Chekov, Kate Chopin’s stories including The Awakening (an old favorite) and others.

      I can see I have a lot more to learn. Thanks Paul!

  2. Congratulations on the Kindle. I have not been using one, but I feel its pull…

    • I felt guilty for a long time about going digital on part of my book collection… I feel like I’m complicit in killing off brick and mortar bookstores.

      But yeah, the Kindle is pretty sexy. One feature I’ve now used and I really like is the highlight feature. You clip a passage from a book you are reading, add your own note to it and then Tweet the whole package directly from the Kindle. The tweet appears on your Twitter account with the note, and links to the quote on Amazon. It’s an incredibly smart feature for Amazon to have built in for social media regulars like me.

      On a separate note, as SOON as you create your blog link please let me know so I can link to it from here!

      Thanks Patrick!

Leave a Reply

