Random Insomnia Post – Incoherence

It’s 4am and I’ve been tossing and turning all night.  This happens from time to time.  I get in bed with the best intentions, but my mind and body are not cooperating with the plan.

I got up at 1:30am and watched some television until 2:30am.  I went back to bed, satisfied that an hour of random middle-of-the-night television was enough to exhaust any reasonable brain, but I was wrong.  I fell asleep for 20 minutes, then woke up again at 3:10am.

After 50 minutes of really believing I could get back to sleep, I gave up and decided to write a blog post about my frustration.

Perhaps the worst part of insomnia is that all of the completely disconnected thoughts that flow through your brain in stream of consciousness fashion seem to make sense at the time you are thinking of them.

Instead of counting sheep, I thought about where I might like to go if I planned a trip; then I considered what to wear tomorrow; that led to thinking about vitamins; and from there another four or five topics wandered by (including the television show I had just watched) and sprinkled their bits and pieces of thought into my exhausted brain.

It’s not so much that I mind having all these random thoughts, it is that I know these thoughts are preventing me from getting bodily rest.  If only these thoughts could lead to a great invention, or the next compelling short story, or just plain old sleep, then I’d be satisfied.

I’m not sure if any of this makes sense…but I’m going to post it anyway. And where I am not making sense, maybe the Mayo Clinic will… here is there page which cites some of the possible causes of Insomnia.

4 Responses

  1. I’ve found that the random-thought train goes into second gear if you indulge it. For example, if I’m thinking seriously about baseball, that will lead to various thoughts that can consume a half hour…and then I’ll start thinking about football. (Thoughts about work tend to be motivated by stress or anxiety, and can only lead to bad results. Don’t Go there.) But if I’m thinking about how glad I am to be in bed, and how ready I am to sleep, that leads to a better result. Obviously, one can’t do that every night, so other mental tricks apply. Picturing yourself in happy settings often works. It seems to all depend on what direction you allow yourself to head.

    • Thanks Patrick, good advice. I neglected to mention too much caffeine before going to bed yesterday. I’m sure that is what did me in last night. But the next time this comes up, I’ll try to go to my happy place.

      🙂

  2. This always seems to happen to me.

    I wake up in the middle of the night out of a thought, as if I hadn’t actually been sleeping at all. I start feeling anxious about the things I have to do tomorrow, within the next few days or over the weekend and it eats away at my brain.

    Good post – I liked how you talked about the random thoughts that sprung up in your head. Sometimes the most random thoughts make complete sense when you work backwards to your initial thought.

    Hope your sleeping patterns have been uninterrupted as of late 🙂

    • It’s true, sometimes random thoughts are good, and they lead you to think of other things and it can be an internal journey to create a new idea… other times it’s troublesome when it makes you anxious (as you mention above and I agree.)

      And yes, I’ve been sleeping through the night lately which is why I haven’t posted a random insomnia post in a while!

Leave a Reply

