Photos from Puebla and Oaxaca Mexico!

Photos of my trip to Mexico are now up for viewing on my site: http://cdeminskiphotos.shutterfly.com

The first page is Faces of Mexico, which is an homage to the people of Puebla and San Pedro Cholula, the first two stops on my trip to Southern Mexico.  The people I saw in Mexico really inspired me, their faces were so expressive and wonderful.

Man taking a rest on a bench near the Puebla Zocalo

My hope was to capture images of people going about their daily lives, and I took a lot of photos of people buying and selling things, sitting at rest, making food, praying in church, and just doing what they normally do. I especially treasure some of the photos I got of parents and children, because I really observed a lot of tenderness and care of children while I was in Mexico.

Little girl held by her father at an open air market in Puebla

I will write other posts about Puebla, because I kept a travel journal while I was away and I want to share more of my observations from the trip.

The second page is dedicated to my visit to the state of Oaxaca. Oaxaca is a state filled with contradictions. One the one hand you will see crushing poverty, as it is one of the poorest states in Mexico, and yet you will also see a tremendous amount of culture and artistry everywhere you go in Oaxaca.

One face of poverty in Oaxaca

Oaxaca is home to several archeological sites and I am thrilled to say I was able to visit Monte Alban, which is a Unesco World Heritage site. It is no wonder why, once you have been there. On the bottom of the Oaxaca photo page I posted a film strip of 13 photos from either the Monte Alban site directly, or some of the artifacts from Monte Alban which are housed in a museum of culture, which is attached to the church of Santo Domingo de Guzman in the city of Oaxaca.

The wonder of Monte Alban in the Mexican state of Oaxaca

In addition to Monte Alban, I also toured the place where Dona Rosa’s family makes black pottery in the Oaxacan countryside, and I visited a family of wood carvers on that trip as well. The amazing craftspeople that I met are documented on my Oaxaca page too.

Dona Rosa's Black Pottery Shop - Oaxacan countryside

I hope you will take a look at the nearly 100 photos I have posted on those two pages – with more to come! I took nearly 600 photos on my trip, and I know there is so much more to share about these amazing places in Mexico.

Please enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. How do I find out the value of a piece of Dona Rosa pottery that I have inherited?

    • I honestly don’t know.

      I visited the shop while I was in Oaxaca, and frankly, brand new pieces were as inexpensive as $3 USD for small works. I bought a few pieces and brought them home with me.

      You might need to do some research, but the Dona Rosa pottery ‘factory’ is still open, so they might be able to help you there. (I don’t have their contact details though…)

Leave a Reply

