Improving Blog Stats Pt 3: Revealing The Results

In early October, I decided to undertake an experiment to improve the total hits to my blog. Did it work? YES! Actually, it worked much better than I ever thought it would. I want to share what happened in the few weeks since I started my new blog regimen.

First, I posted: Just the Stats Ma’am: Improving Blog Stats on October 9th and I put out a list of activities I was currently doing, and asked my readers and blog visitors to comment on how to make improvements. I got a ton of great suggestions to choose from!

People suggested everything from re-tweeting blog links to Twitter, to writing more blog posts each week, to doing tag surfing on WordPress and commenting on blog posts I liked, to many other things. As I write this, there are 17 comments in that post, check them out for tips.

Next, I posted an update to my readers on how things were going: It’s Official: My Best Month Ever for Blog Hits to let everyone know that by October 22nd, I had just passed my prior number for most hits, which was 329 hits to my blog.

So, here we are, one day before the end of this month:

I don’t know if you can see it clearly, but since I started my blog back in March, this is clearly the best month ever with a current total of 549 blog hits for the month. In October, I’ve thusfar averaged 19 hits a day, handily beating all previous months I’ve been blogging.

So what is the secret to this success? What have I done differently?

There is primarily only one thing I’ve done this month that is a big change from previous months: I’ve posted many more times this month than any prior month. I’ve tried to maintain a (difficult) posting schedule of five times a week and that has seemed to make a HUGE difference.

Other things I’ve done this month to help ‘nudge’ my stats along include trying to post humor more frequently, and spending more time reading other people’s blogs and “Liking” posts I liked, and commenting on posts I enjoyed.

If I were even more saavy about this, I’d install some fancy stats package to look at my numbers in more granular detail and try to figure out what time of the day is best for me to post, what day of the week, blah blah blah.

I don’t think I’ll do that, but I do enjoy posting with greater frequency because I realized (only after having done it) that it creates a much more active conversation with the blog audience (that’d be you, dear readers.) You post comments more, you Like my stuff more, and I can chat with you more on the blog. Thanks again for all your support too.

The number one tip I’d recommend for anyone who wants more visitors to their blog is post more frequently and give the reader ideas and humor they’ll enjoy. I wish you the best of luck on your blog adventure too!

8 Responses

  1. Thanks for the info Carol. You’ve proven what I’ve suspected all along, and didn’t want to admit: more posting! Sigh…

    • I know, it’s not easy. It’s also possible there are other strategies I didn’t try that would also drive traffic, I’m sure this isn’t the only way. (For example, one hit of a really great post on Fresh Pressed is probably worth six months worth of traffic, at least.)

  2. You’re working your tail off, CD. Keep it up.

  3. Hi there! Just passing through really quickly to say “THANKS” for the Like this morning! Looking forward to getting to know you and your blog. 🙂

    Are you participating in NaNo?

    • Thanks for dropping in Janece. I’m not a NaNo-er, but to those about to rock, I salute you! lol

      Hope you enjoy my blog. Right now, I’m focused on the short story and I’ll stand by and watch in admiration as others take on the novella and the novel. 🙂

  4. I’ve been following your advice and yes, my stats have improved. It’s great to know that someone is reading what I write, or at displaying it on their computer screen, although sometimes I think that it would be really weird to get, say, 50 comments on a post, rather than the usual zero, one, or two. Cheers.

    • I’m really glad the collective wisdom and my experiment is helping you!

      If you’re not already doing this, and you want more comments on your posts, ask a question or two at the bottom of the posting. Sometimes that prompts the reader to reply. 🙂

Leave a Reply

