I’ve had just about enough of you

Dear Brain,

Can you please stop sending me story ideas for a little while? As much as I love your stories, dear brain, I cannot write them down fast enough. In fact, I can’t sleep either, because you continue bombarding with tape reels of things I saw, conversations I heard and snips of dialogue I should write.

And, dear brain, while I can’t go anywhere without you, must you really implore me to think about character names in the shower? I’d like to wash my hair, if it’s okay. You’d prefer that I agonize over Lulu or Lola; Greg or Gonzo.

The funny thing is, I’ve heard writers fear an empty page. I’m beginning to wonder about the veracity of that now. When I write everyday, brain, you keep the hits coming. The words flow, but then like a leaky faucet you keep drip, drip, dripping ideas – I’ve got a whole puddle of them right here on the floor.

I have to hand it to you brain, you’ve done a lot of good work this year with many stories written. You don’t go on vacation, you don’t rest (aren’t you the one sending me those subliminal messages when I sleep?), and you’re always there for me. I may be tired of you at the moment, I may even get fed up from time to time with your incessant nature, but I couldn’t have done it without you.

Let me make it up to you. I’ll eat chocolate, take a hot bath, and listen to relaxing music to soothe you. But if we go with your plan, I’ll drink enough caffeine to stay up all night and write until I can’t see straight.

Either way, I’ll meet you there.

3 Responses

  1. A perfect letter to the writers greatest enemy and ally.

  2. I feel the same way. I can’t sleep at all sometimes and it takes me 2 hours to fall alseep at times. So I COMPLETELY know how you feel…

Leave a Reply

