Thanks a lot

I have to wonder who put the “thanks” in Thanksgiving? Was it the pilgrims and the indians? And in modern day America, do we still truly give thanks – during these challenging times – at Thanksgiving?

A friend of mine volunteers at a soup kitchen in Harlem every Thanksgiving. In some years when he’s eaten at my house (I love cooking a big holiday meal) he comes in all aglow and energized by his experience. I think it’s great he does the work, and he obviously enjoys working with the community.

Another friend of mine was born in Greece and although he’s lived in the U.S. for several decades, he brings Greek specialties to my Thanksgiving dinners of yore. Squares of flaky pastry spanikopita, or boxes of creamy Greek desserts or baklava adorn my table.

This year has been wierd for me, a kind of Dickensian “it was the best of times, it was the worst of times” type deal – and I’ve been thinking about all the things I have in my life to give thanks for and there’s a lot.

In the spirit of my blogging life , I’m thankful to have an audience of readers who engage with me on many issues related to my writing life and my journey as a writer. I’m thankful to have met so many wonderful people from all over the U.S., Africa, Australia and the entire world who’ve applauded my victories and encouraged me to keep going. Many have provided valuable advice, friendship and mentorship along the way.

So when you sit down to Thanksgiving dinner this year, think about all you have to be thankful for – no matter how tough things can  get, there are always people in life who make it worth while and cheer you on so you can keep going.

I wish you all a healthy, happy and very thankful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

