Story Accepted for Publication: Short, Fast and Deadly!

I’m very proud to announce Short, Fast and Deadly has accepted a piece titled White Meat for their January 2012 issue.  As usual, I will post a link on the blog once the story has been published.

Their January issue is themed, with all prose pieces taking their first four words from the first four words of a famous poem. (And all poems will take their first four words from a famous prose piece.)

I selected The Red Wheelbarrow by William Carlos Williams as my inspiration. Here is the original poem by Williams, but you’ll have to wait until January to read my piece in S,F&D!

 

The Red Wheelbarrow

so much depends
upon

a red wheel
barrow

glazed with rain
water

beside the white
chickens.

6 Responses

  1. A very, very big congratulations to you. Great choice of poem (and poet) for inspiration. I cannot wait to read your piece.

  2. I love this poem, it’s one of my absolute favourites. Congratulations on your publication and I look forward to reading what you made of such a wonderful prompt!

    • I love Wm Carlos Williams. His work is so concise, so image driven and it lingers with me.

      I can tell you now I made something completely wierd out of the prompt. It came from somewhere in my subconscious, I’d say.

      Also, if you have a moment, read down a few entries in my blog “Let Us Go Then” which is a short piece inspired by T.S. Eliot’s The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock.

  3. Congratulations Carol!

Leave a Reply

