More Top Movies – Devastating Performances

I woke up this morning with my head swimming with movies I forgot to mention…fantastic movies that are crying out to be here, and again, I’m sure I could keep going and going… these dozen represent high water marks of talent and performance in my mind.

  1. Amadeus (Tom Hulce and of course F. Murray Abraham are amazing)
  2. Breaking the Waves (what an amazing performance by Emily Watson!)
  3. Marathon Man (Dustin Hoffman and Sir Lawrence Olivier, could you ask for more?)
  4. The Boys from Brazil (Gregory Peck is haunting)
  5. The Taking of Pelham 1-2-3 (the ORIGINAL with Walter Matthau thank you very much)
  6. Ocean’s 11 (not the original with Frank Sinatra, the new one with George, Brad, Matt and co. Okay, okay – lots of hunky guys who are easy on the eyes)
  7. Little Big Man (another incredible performance by Dustin Hoffman)
  8. Bound (Gina Gershon knocks it out of the park)
  9. The Big Chill (what a cast!)
  10. The Apartment (Jack Lemmon and Shirley MacLaine are delish)
  11. Gandhi (Ben Kingsley won the Oscar for this one, as he should have)
  12. Less Than Zero (Robert Downey Jr. is devastating in this, and it foreshadows aspects of his struggles with drugs in his own life…)
9 Responses

  1. Great list of moving, heartbreaking and amazing performances.

    • Sorry I wrote the wrong thing above
      I meant to say great list of moving, funny, dramatic and absolutely amazing performances.

      • It’s true, I tried to give equal time to a large variety of movie genres including humor, drama, romance, adventure, action, war, etc.

        On the list I have… which are your absolute top five favorites? Or if you prefer, which five movies do you think should be on this list but I didn’t put them on?

        🙂

  2. Yes, Breaking the Waves was an incredible film and really launched Emma Watson’s career…

    • What a debut! I really need to watch Breaking the Waves again as I haven’t seen it in ages.

      • Yeah, I’d like to watch it again too.

        I’m just sorry my VCR machine is broken, I have so many great movies on tape. One film I really want to watch again is The Red Violin. What an amazing film…

        • Your posts are really good, you should check out my blog if you get the chance to.

        • I just added a half dozen films to your “Ensemble Casts” posting. 🙂

          It made me think of how much I love Best in Show, and all of Christopher Guest’s work for that matter

Leave a Reply

