2011 Roundup – Highlights of My Inaugural Blogging Year

On March 26, 2011 I began this blog with the auspicious post: “Is This Thing On” with a two word revelation: Hello World!

Yeah, I had no freaking clue what blogging was about, or what I signed myself up for. Even though blogging is a ridiculous amount of work, I’m happy with my inaugural year results.

.

THE NUMBERS:

  • 134 postings created during 2011, and over 600 tags used. Some months, like June 2011 had only 1 posting, while others, like December 2011 had 23. (To look at the postings of a full month go to the calendar in the far right column of my blog towards the bottom and you can hover over any date to see what was posted, or move between months with ease.)
  • Pages were viewed more than 3000 times in 2011! I’m proud of that stat! I couldn’t have done it without YOU the reader, coming to see what the heck I had to say. Which leads me to….
  • There are 432 comments on my blog. Because I reply to nearly every comment, about half of them are mine. Of the rest, my top commenters are: Wren Andre http://wrenandre.wordpress.com, Patrick of Sporting Sense, Scribbla http://scribbla.wordpress.com and Louise Jacques of My Other Book is a Tolstoy. You four have been my strongest participants in this blog and have enhanced it tremendously with your inputs. THANK YOU! And thanks to everyone else who commented too!
  • Speaking of participants, 47 people have followed my blog since inception. I had no idea 2 people would want to read what I had to say, nevermind 47. It’s exciting to see this number increasing over time.

.

FLASH FICTION:

There are 10 flash fiction stories posted directly to the blog. Some of my favorites are: Fallen,  and Graduation Day.

Click on the tag “Flash Fiction” in my Tag-a-licious Cloud in the left column of my blog and flash fiction tagged posts will come up in a list.

AUDIO! On at least two of my posts, Flash Fiction: Traveler’s Journey and Flash Fiction: Consider the Pomegranate you can listen to me reading my work. I’ll be posting more of these audio clips in 2012.

.

SHORT STORIES:

13 stories or flash pieces have been published by small press journals, or are forthcoming in Q1 2012. All of these are listed on my Published Stories page. Yay!

.

PHOTOS:

I’m surprised by this number – I’ve got 175 photos posted to the blog. That seems like a lot to me, I hope you enjoyed them.

If you want to see a more composed view of my photographs, please visit my Shutterfly site: http://cdeminskiphotos.shutterfly.com

.

HUMOR:

There are 15 pieces on the blog tagged as Humor. (Click on the Tag-A-Licious cloud under Humor.) These pieces are the hardest for me to write, and I’m never sure if they’re all that funny unless you tell me you enjoyed them (which you do, thanks…)

One of my most clicked posts is Funniest Tweets Ever. I’m not sure if this post still holds up, you can be the judge of that.

Here are the humor posts I like best:

  • Girl’s Guide to Living With a Sports Fan
  • What Upper West Siders Did During the Hurricane
  • Reasons Why Fran Lebowitz Has Writer’s Block
  • Reasons Why Your Short Story Was Rejected
  • A Fairytale – NYC Style (a re-write of Snow White)

.

I look forward to entertaining you all for another year. 2012 – here we come.

10 Responses

  1. A great inaugural year. Here’s to interesting developments in 2012. (BTW, make sure to accomplish ALL of your goals before December 21st, if you know what I mean.)

    🙂

    • Yeah, those pesky Mayans, you just don’t know what is going to happen when the calendar runs out. I’d better set my posting schedule now to accomodate for it. 🙂

  2. You’re gonna do great this year. I know it!

  3. You are Welcome!

  4. Wow – it really hits home when you list everything – great job! I’m impressed with the audio file thing – I can’t even wrap my brain around that. It’s a miracle I’m ever able to post anything at all. And thanks for the mention too – teehee.

    • Aww, thanks Wren. I couldn’t have done it without your support, that’s for sure!

      In terms of the audio, I use a FREE software called Audacity which allows me to easily record audio files with my computer. (No special equipment.) The one “catch” was I needed to install a special separate file that allows me to create MP3’s, which is what WordPress requires (as opposed to wav files or other kinds of audio files.)

      If you set up your own WordPress site, you’ve got enough “technical” skills to set up Audacity and create your own audio files. 🙂

  5. Carol you are most welcome! I have always enjoyed conversing with you and reading your posts. Looking forward to more in 2012!

Leave a Reply

