Blog Rolls, Blog Awards, Blog-headedness, and other Curmudgeonly Offers

Now that I’ve spent a fascinating 10 months in the blog-o-sphere, I’m finally getting around to adding a blog roll. Most of you know what a blog roll is, but for anyone who doesn’t, it’s a list of your peeps, your buds, your pals: your favorite blogs.

Why add a Blog Roll now, Carol?

Well, I’m sooooo glad you asked. 🙂

Some of my readers, dear kindhearted souls that they are, in showing their enjoyment of my blog, they nominate me for any number of blog-o-sphere “I like your blog” award thingies. It’s a nice idea, isn’t it? Awww, so sweet…

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the appreciation. But…I’m a curmudgeonly person by nature (some of the nicer readers didn’t know this about me…until now) and I’m not too keen for jumping up and down three times while chewing gum and singing the national anthem. I’ll watch you do it though. Hey you look like you are having fun, good for you!

But me? I’m not so much for writing about the 14 reasons I like orange juice or the 9 most dastardly things to do with chlorine bleach. I won’t pontificate on how many brussel sprouts I ate last year, or the 6 most secret things I’ve done with a dust buster but never told anyone. I’m not gonna do it and you can’t make me. Nyah, nyah, nyah.

You, however, are all very nice people. You are MUCH nicer than me. But please, for the love of all that is holy, please don’t be offended if I don’t fire off numerous blog posts with an itemized list of the rules of x or y blog award, and the 92 bloggers who won it in the last seven minutes and then come up with a list on my own of 46 more people to nominate.

(Gosh, I’m really mean….I’ll probably go straight to hell for my bad behavior. Don’t try this at home.)

BUT!!

I do enjoy reading other people’s blogs. Woman does not exist in a vacuum, and I am no different. I get out there and read. I even comment from time to time.

I am amused by you, I marvel at your travels, I adore your stories and poems, I laugh at myself when I have no idea what on earth you are talking about (I might be talking about you, you wonderful sports fiend Patrick) and sometimes I even gasp or sit and think on what deep thoughts you have written. You are a very talented bunch, you know.

And so, without further ado, I give you…. drum roll…..the list of blogs I like to read.

There it is…

Over there…

In the lower right corner of my blog…

.

Consider it a list of approved blogs for your reading pleasure, an “award” for producing consistently great content.

Unfortunately, Carol couldn’t be here tonight to accept your flexible, liebling, apple pie, double heart, blogging award, but she asked me to accept it on her behalf.

Thank you.

7 Responses

  1. I have yet to add one myself!

  2. It seems you were in quite the mood last night! Thanks for the ‘Shout Out’ as your fiendish teacher of the dastardly world of sports 🙂

    And many thanks for the blogroll pub!

    • Haha, thanks Patrick. Without you, I wouldn’t even know which teams are playing in the Superbowl this year!

      I just watch the commercials later on the internet, with all that silly football stuff removed. 😉

  3. One of these days I’ll get around to adding one too! It’s epic enough for me to have ever figured out how to work any of the widgets at all.
    I know what you mean about the awards though – I’m the same way with facebook game requests. I don’t want to help anyone find a secret treasure or carrot or daily password. I especially don’t want to be beholden to them because my people got too close to the time machine and they used a portion of their golden rocks to save them. Particularly as I have NO idea what any of that means.

    • Yes, see my comments above re: brussel sprouts, orange juice and chlorine bleach.

      They can’t make us do it Wren – just say No! 🙂

      P.S. Adding a Blog Roll isn’t hard. Go to your “Menus” page on WordPress, add a Custom Menu (called Blog Roll) to your list of custom menus – or maybe it’s your only custom menu. Then on the left hand side of the menu page, add custom links to the Blog Roll custom menu. (Do NOT select the menu to be part of your site’s main navigation.)

      Once you’ve added as many links as desired, go back to your Widgets page and add “Custom Menu” – select Blog Roll – to your sidebar of choice.

      That doesn’t seen that complicated, does it?

Leave a Reply

