A gray day in Jersey City

It’s eerily calm out right now, and gray. Last night, I lay awake at 2, 3 and then 4am and watched tiny flakes of snow hit the pavement and disappear – nothing stuck and it’s all wet black pavement without traces of white. It’s also not cold enough for snow.

I couldn’t sleep in my bed because it was too comfortable. It was strange, tossing back and forth all warm and supported by my cushy mattress and unable to find the right spot. So I went to the living room and wedged my body into my couch, which feels fine when you first lay your body down, but the longer you stay in one spot it feels like it’s made out of concrete.

I watched re-runs on television. This re-run was of a man going to Hawaii to pick cacao pods. Then he showed the process from picking the pod to making dark chocolate.

I finally fell asleep around 4:30am, and slept until 9 and then decided what the hell and fell back asleep again for a few more hours because my brain still wasn’t working.

I’m sitting up as I write this and every joint in my body is saying thanks a lot for the brilliant idea of sleeping on the couch but in a way, I’m glad for the discomfort. It makes me want to get up and do something (other than write this blog post.)

This post feels like a Random Insomnia Post, which I used to write on the blog awhile back, even though it’s the middle of the day right now. I guess you can have insomnia any time within a 24 hour cycle, I just never thought about it that way. Maybe I would if I worked the night shift and tried to sleep when the sun is shining and it’s beautiful outside. That’s probably the worst kind of insomnia, actually.

Just as I write this, the sun is fighting to peek through the clouds. It’s like someone turning up the volume on a great song you love that comes on the radio while you’re driving down the highway and tapping your fingers on the steering wheel…but then turning it back down again when the gray clouds win.

 

 

Leave a Reply

