Two New Stories at PANK and The Molotov Cocktail

Having my first PANK story published feels fantastic. I’m thrilled to be able to share this story, even though it’s one of the most difficult stories I’ve ever tried to write. I had to dig deeper emotionally in this work, and I’ve got my own resistances to that.

Please note though, the events in the story did not happen to me – it’s not reflective of personal experiences…it’s important to me that people know that because what happens in the story is very difficult.

Roxane Gay, yes I have to say it again, is a phenomenal editor. She was supportive and instrumental in how this story was shaped. She told me she thinks this story has a lot of heart which means the world to me. With pride, here it is:

Click here for The Price of Luxury:

http://www.pankmagazine.com/the-price-of-luxury/

.

I think I mentioned How We Found Each Other wasn’t getting much love from many other editors. Josh Goller was the right man at the right time, and for that I’m so pleased to have this quirky little story published in The Molotov Cocktail. Thanks to Josh for giving me the chance to show a darker side in my work:

Click here for How We Found Each Other:

http://themolotovcocktail.com/volume-2/vol-2-issue-23/foundeachother/

.

The permanent links for these two stories are on the Published Stories page.

12 Responses

  1. Hey, welcome to the Pank-o-verse. Water’s pretty nice in this here pool, eh?

    • Hells to the yes! And I just saw that item on the PANK blog showing how the New York freakin’ Times has spotlighted PANK as one of 10 literary magazines to watch. Woo Hoo!

      Also Court, I saw your post today about your guest-editor spot at PANK for later this summer. You know, I don’t normally write Noir-ish things, but since you are guest editing I may very well give it a go. If nothing else, maybe I’ll give you a chuckle!

  2. I’m blushing over here …

  3. I loved the subtleties in The Price of Luxury. You took your time, set up the story and didn’t overly exploit the characters or the situation for add “shock.” Really well done.

    • Oh goodness Steven, thanks so much for that comment. The story took months to write, and I’ve alluded to it in my posting comments, but Roxane was so gracious and helpful throughout – providing the most encouraging kind of editorial support you can imagine.

      It was essential to me that nothing be graphic in this story, I wanted to have a subtle touch, which I think makes the ending more horrifying.

  4. Hi Carol, yes I did read both your stories and enjoyed them a lot. Every word in “The Price of Luxury,” in particular, had value; it was a lean, trim story. Congratulations!

  5. Glad it didn’t happen do you. Well done, Carol.

Leave a Reply

