Happy Birthday Blog

Happy Birthday to my blog, that turned a year old on March 26th!

Birthday Cake Ideas for a One-Year-Old Girl thumbnail

 

My personal goal of exceeding 5000 page views was reached, thank you readers! The blog now has 75 subscribers, and I hope this year will see more than 75 new readers join them.

I think I read somewhere that page views and blog participation grows over time (with the exception of a Freshly Pressed hit, which sky rockets a blog into the stratosphere in one day.) My blog has been the tortoise, not the hare, and I’ve seen a slow and steady increase in page views and participants. For example, this month (which doesn’t end for 2 more days…) already has the highest number of page views at around 730 views so far.

So this year I will have to set a new goal – reaching a 1000 page view month! I think I’m up for the challenge, with your help of course. 🙂

Although I did a wrap up post in early January, looking back at 2011 as my first calendar year, this blog birthday feels good. It’s a milestone in persistence. Isn’t that what being a writer is all about? I think so.

I get mushy when I think about the many writers who have signed up for my blog and comment regularly. It’s gratifying to be part of the community and I love how we help and encourage each other. It’s a huge motivator that keeps me going when it comes to the blog.

Although I don’t talk about my personal life much, and stay focused on writing as my subject most of the time, I’ll say the past twelve months have been challenging for me personally. I’m healthy thank goodness, but there are other things going on which have disrupted my life and which I continue to deal with…it’s good to know you are all out there, reading, and being so supportive. It does mean a lot, to me. Thanks.

 

13 Responses

  1. Dear Mushy Girl,

    Congratulations and you’re welcome. Many happy returns.

    Aloha,

    One who follows the trail you blaze. D.

    • If I were in Hawaii right now, I’d climb that mountain right to the top, watch the stars shimmer by, and give you a big hug.

      You’re the best, thanks Doug.

      Also… keep at it man. You’ll get there.

  2. And many moooore!

    Your blog is a joy to read, and I appreciate the razor focus you maintain in terms of content (mine tends to be all over the place, haha).

    I’m rooting for you and your new goals, and I look forward to contributing to your 1000 monthly goal specifically. 😀

    As always, thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks so much Mike – and I definitely appreciate your participation – click by click!

      Question for you…when you got your Freshly Pressed hit, did it just send your blog on a rocketship ride to the moon in terms of followers and page hits?

      Your FP happened at least a week ago, it will be interesting to see if people who were interested in your TV personality profile analysis will stick around for your other content, and if new followers also stay following.

      Any comments you can share? I’ve always been really curious about how FP affects a blog. (And of course, I hope I get hit up by the Fine People of Freshly Pressed someday!)

      • Freshly Pressed definitely got me my highest number of page views by far: over 4,000 in one day, and I doubled my followers in the two days it was up.

        A week later, I’m still getting residual views and a follower here and there. I noticed that my last few articles have been commented on and liked by my new followers, so Freshly Pressed definitely helped me snag a few long term followers.

        However, since my blog doesn’t focus primarily on just one theme, I wonder if some of those followers will lose eventually interest (maybe they thought I was primarily a movie blog?).

        But the FP “buzz” has faded, and I’m always thrilled to see comments and likes from the bloggers who welcomed me into the WordPress community about a month ago. 🙂

        • Mike, that’s fantastic!! Wow, 4000 hits in one day, it’s impressive.

          Doubling your followers in one day is also phenomenal. You don’t say how many followers you got within your first blogging month, but double is a 100% increase so any way you slice it’s a win.

          Yes, you might have a few of them drop off, or maybe you could throw in a movie or TV post once in a while to see if you get different commenters, but I’d bet many that signed up will stay.

          As for me, count me as a regular reader please. 😉

  3. Happy birthday and good job!

  4. Congratulations Carol! It’s absolutely tremendous that you’ve achieved all your goals, and rightly so! 🙂

  5. Woo-hoo! Happy Birthday Carol – and may you reach your blog goals plus have any other life disruptions resolve peacefully to your satisfaction!

  6. Happy Birthday to your baby

Leave a Reply

