My Worldly Readers

WordPress recently added a new feature to the Statistics / Dashboard area where the blog owner can see what countries readers are coming from to look at the blog.

 

 

I am BLOWN AWAY by how many readers come to my blog from other countries. It’s astounding.

HELLO WORLD!

IF you are coming from outside the United States, AND you read my blog I would LOVE if you could identify your country of origin and say Hello in your language.

Just for fun – in “# of page views order” here is the list of reader’s countries that visited my blog in the last 30 days.

BLOG READERS COME FROM:

  • United States – How ya doin’?!
  • Netherlands – Hallo!
  • Canada – Hello Ay!
  • UK – Hello mate!
  • Australia – G’day!
  • Kenya – (Veeh taught me “Habari!” Thanks Veeh!)
  • Spain – Hola!
  • Norway – Hallo!
  • India – Namaste!
  • Philippines
  • Mexico – Hola!
  • Republic of Korea -An-nyong Ha-se-yo
  • Italy – Ciao!
  • Germany – Guten Tag!
  • France – Bonjour!
  • Indonesia – Halo!
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Turkey – Merhaba!
  • Brazil – Ola!
  • United Arab Emirates – Merhaban!
  • New Zealand – Hello!
  • Czech Republic – Dobry den!
  • Lithuania
  • Bahrain – Merhaban!
  • Slovenia
  • Singapore
  • Ecuador – Hola!
  • Israel – Shalom!
  • Argentina – Hola!
  • Sweden – Hej!
  • Romania – Buna ziua!
  • Bangladesh
  • Iceland – Hallo!
  • Japan – Kon Nichiwa!
16 Responses

  1. Hi Carol,

    Am from Kenya…we say Habari 🙂

  2. Greeks say ” Yassou” (informal) “yassas” (formal or plural) Austrians say “Servus” or Grüß Gott. Bavarians say “Grüß Gott” which is in a way like “God bless/greet your God or even an analogy of the Namaste which have become simply a formal greeting” A simple way to say “hello’ in Germany is “Hallo”

    • Thanks George! I figured you would know a lot of these languages…

      No one from Greece reads my blog, and although you are Greek you are here in the U.S. … we’ll have to get your friends “back home” to visit my blog. 🙂

      Still, it’s soooo amazing to me to see how many people come to the blog from all those countries.

      As you see from Veeh’s comments above, I even have regular readers from Africa, which is so exciting!

  3. This is really terrific.

  4. Hi there! I’m a South African living in Beijing so I’ll say ‘goeie more’ in Afrikaans and ‘Ni Hao’ in Mandarin. 🙂

    • Goeie More to you too Celia! And Ni Hao too!

      Of course I am fascinated by why a South African lady is working/living in Beijing – do share more if you’d like about your adventures. 🙂

      Also, do you regularly read my blog, or are you a new reader? In any case, WELCOME! I’m always thrilled to meet new people from all around the world, and in the comments field to this posting, it seems we’re rapidly getting representation from nearly every continent on the globe!!

      Thank you for sharing your comment.

      • I’m a trailing spouse right now and yes, am having many adventures here in China 🙂 I’ve been following your blog for a while, thanks for all the writing advice, it is always an inspiration!

        • Wow, that’s fantastic Celia. You know I’m sure your experiences would make for excellent Creative Non-Fiction story material.

          Creative Non-Fiction is a relatively recent and very popular category of writing now. If you are interested, there is a “Beta” Creative Non-Fiction search function on Duotrope.com where you can see journals looking for this type of material.

          Also, thank you for your kind words. If my advice has provided any help whatsoever, I’m gratified to know it.

          Finally… I’m completely jealous that you get to eat authentic, amazing Chinese food whenever you want it! 😀 (Chinese soup dumplings is one of my favorite foods!)

  5. Hi Carol, this is funny. [Hallo Carol, dit is leuk]
    How are you? [ Hoe gaat het met je?]
    I`m okay. [Met mij gaat het goed]

    Eerlijkheid gebied mij dat ik ook de neiging heb je te plagen en iets te verzinnen wat ver van de waarheid ligt.

    The Netherlands are also could Holland.
    A free translation is: “Hollow land”, not Holy Land *uche*.
    In Dutch it`s Nederland. Like in land lower than sea level.

    Desalniettemin is het erg leuk dat u uw lezers buiten de VS zo waardeert dat u er een post over schrijft.

    Hardstikke bedankt, George.

    • Haha George, you have a few phrases above and I have NO idea what they mean because you didn’t translate them! (I hope you are saying something nice…LOL)

      What does this mean? Eerlijkheid gebied mij dat ik ook de neiging heb je te plagen en iets te verzinnen wat ver van de waarheid ligt.

      And this? Desalniettemin is het erg leuk dat u uw lezers buiten de VS zo waardeert dat u er een post over schrijft.

      Well, it’s safe to say that you are covering the Netherlands readership for my blog – I know you’ve read a LOT of posts, and stories too – so THANK YOU!!

  6. Hi Carol, good to see that you trust me.

    Eerlijkheid gebied mij dat ik ook de neiging heb je te plagen en iets te verzinnen wat ver van de waarheid ligt.
    [ I have to be honest, I was tempted to made up a translation that was far beyond the truth ]

    Desalniettemin is het erg leuk dat u uw lezers buiten de VS zo waardeert dat u er een post over schrijft.
    [ Nevertheless it is very kind, that you appreciate your foreign readers and write a post about this]

    Hardstikke bedankt. [Thank you very very much]

Leave a Reply

