A fallow moment

Fallow, adj: Plowed and harrowed but left unsown for a period in order to restore its fertility

As you may (or may not) have noticed, my writing productivity has slowed this month on the blog. It’s not just the blog actually, it is also in my writing, and submitting activities too.

I’ve been rejuvenating myself physically, and psychologically.

The last several months have been challenging on a few levels. I haven’t talked about it on the blog, and I likely won’t, but I feel like I’m waiting to get through this tunnel…I can see the shafts of light streaming through the opening at the end, but I haven’t emerged into full sunlight yet.

Some positives help keep me going. I’ve been working hard on my physical being. This means, for me, walking 5-6 miles a day, eating mostly vegetables, taking vitamins and combatting my insomnia.

It’s strange, but I seem to have a nearly inhuman amount of energy from this new regimen. I’m so amped up with energy from the exercise and possibly the vitamins (?) it has dampened my appetite. I’m eating only once a day.

It’s bizarre to say this, but the less I eat, the higher my energy levels get. It’s completely counter-intuitive. And yet…I’ve lost 11 pounds thusfar. I feel good, with more to go.

Also gratifying to see is my blog traffic has miraculously maintained itself pretty well even though I’ve cut back on postings. Many thanks to all of you who continue to participate in and ponder the posts here. I love the idea that a global community of writers comes to my blog, and I love hearing from all of you.

As for the rest of my life…I’m putting my energies where they need to be: being around friends, drawing on the advice of work colleagues, experts and gurus, continuing to draw on an amazing support network of people I know and care about, and pushing forward.

Thanks for listening, and reading. 🙂

8 Responses

  1. Stay well. The writing horse will be there waiting for you to get back on. It always is.

    • Thanks Court. I got an idea for a new story a few days ago, and just jotted down a few paragraphs…but I know I can’t keep working on it right now. At least the concept has been captured so I can come back to it.

      And thanks for your note, I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. Yep, the healthier you eat and more you exercise the more energy you have! I was amazed that after several months of running regularly and eating well it was very hard for me to become tired, even after long jogs. Hope you feel better soon!

    • Thanks so much Belle. It’s kind of incredible to me to have this level of energy, but I’ll take it! It certainly gives me plenty of get-up-and-go!

      Thank you for your comments. 🙂

  3. Keept it up, CD! Great progress!

  4. You weren’t kidding when you mentioned we were on similar wavelengths.

    I’m glad that I came back to WordPress in time to read this post. We have a great network of writers and all-around supportive people on here, don’t we?

    Your energetic regiment piques my interest. Maybe the body needs some attention to focus the mind. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

    • You know what Mike, this isn’t the first time we’ve done this. And actually, I’ve even read posts you put up and had to write a post to respond to your thought!

      You’re a talented guy, please keep at it. I know it’s freakin’ hard work to maintain a blog…especially over time. But it ensures an ongoing stream of supportive friends, creative juices flowing, and hopefully more than a few smiles along the way.

      🙂
      P.S. Yes, you said something about your bike recently I think, but a walk is just as good and helps clear the mind. You don’t need to walk on the city streets, just head to Central Park…plenty of walking paths (just avoid those crazy roller bladers!)

Leave a Reply

