Twice Bitten

A few weeks ago I wrote a post from the road called When the Bug Bites, because I got sick while traveling. This post is called Twice Bitten, because I got another bug… and yes, I can’t believe it, but I’m sick again.

It’s a good thing that I’m at home this time around.

I went to the doctor last Friday for a regular check up, and I was perfectly healthy. The woman a few seats away from me in the waiting room was not healthy, and she contaminated the whole waiting room with her cold / flu virus. As soon as she sat down, I moved away from her… but I didn’t move far enough. Two days later I was really sick, and I’m still sick despite the regimen of zinc, echinacea, vitamins, and water.

I wish doctors would have two waiting rooms instead of one. One should be for healthy patients who are not sick, and then there should be a quarantined area where people who know they are sick should go sit… in an enclosed room. I know that cold germs spread rapidly and it’s extremely hard to contain contamination, but what else can be done? You shouldn’t have to sit next to someone whose face is red and puffy, their nose is running, they sneeze and cough… it’s not fair to everyone else in the office.

.

The thing that happens to me when I’m really sick like this is I get delirious. I ran a fever the first few nights, and the wierdest thoughts float through my head… imagined conversations with people I haven’t spoken to in a while, thoughts that come up from the depths of my psyche, a variety of unbidden images and I feel like I’m losing my grip on reality at certain moments. It’s an “in between” state where the body has taken over everything and does not allow the mind to function in it’s usual way.

It’s very unpleasant to be so incapacitated that I can’t get up out of bed, or only with an extreme level of effort to motivate myself to get a drink of water, or get tissues (the box of tissues is in bed with me now.)

For some part of the time I have been in bed I wondered how I could turn this misfortune into something creative… but the body has been stubbornly refusing to give me relief…

In this brief moment I’m taking out of bed I wanted to say “hi” to everybody, and I’m not going down without a fight, but for right now the cold is winning…

2 Responses

  1. I think you need something to eat, like chicken soup. That may fortify your body and make you less prone to delirium. You also need cold compresses on your head.

    • I know you’re right Patrick … I should probably eat something. I have not had any appetite at all. Yesterday I ate some raisin bread which doesn’t sound like much (because it’s not) but anything is better than nothing.

      I thought about the cold compresses, especially when my fevers kept rolling over me (you know, you feel hot, then you start sweating and the fever breaks, then it comes back again…) bleh. If I run another fever tonight (I really hope not, it’s already day 4) then I’ll try that. :-/

Leave a Reply

