Review: The Lego Movie

I haven’t seen too many movies in the past few months, and it’s because a lot of the movies that are released lately are crap.

One of the ways I try and avoid seeing crappy movies is by reading the reviews on RottenTomatoes.com. When movies are poorly rated by the critics (or top critics) usually with corroborating explanations of why, I’ll probably skip the film unless it’s something I really want to see even if it isn’t perfect.

The Lego Movie was given one of the highest RottenTomatoes scores I’ve seen in a long time. It had a critic rating of 97% “fresh” which is near perfection. Critics universally praised the film, said it was very smart and funny … and would have great cross-over appeal between kids and adults. That was enough to convince me to see the movie, yes, in 3D.

I was utterly disappointed in the film. There were some funny moments, mostly in the first third of the film, but then the whole premise of the movie wore thin on me. The idea is that legos are inter-changeable, but then there is one lego man Emmet, who is not (very Monty Python’s Life of Brian, incidentally).

Emmet is on a hero’s quest that is fast paced, and yet still boring. I guess kids will like how quickly the transformer-like-lego-action on the screen unfolds, but it just could not hold my interest. About halfway through the film I considered getting up to leave, but I stuck it out … although I think I nodded off for a few minutes after the halfway mark.

If you like the idea of a fluffy pop-culture romp across many different 3D lego landscapes of a town, a wild west scenario, a space adventure, blah blah blah… then you may enjoy the movie. Don’t expect the laugh-a-minute reviews to be accurate, they’re not. The movie has some amusing moments, but on the whole there was a lot of silent watching in the packed theater today.

Spoiler Alert: The real “bottom” of the movie, for me,Β was zooming out to see Will Ferrell,Β (the voice of President Business when we’re inside lego-land) turning into the real life father with the giant lego set in the basement as his own adult playground that his son has “intruded upon.” Emmet, the hero of someone trying to be unique, is the son and dad soon realizes his “mistake” of trying to Krazy Glue the different lego creations together permanently because it doesn’t allow the son to go wild with his imagination.

Then they hug and all is well.

Puke.

The End

8 Responses

  1. Tell it like it is! πŸ™‚

  2. Glad I didn’t see it. Jess did. Hee hee.

    • Oh, I see… sometimes one of you “gets to go” and then sometimes it’s the other. It’s a shame, because the movie got such great reviews. Sigh.

      (Maybe she’ll see this comment) Jess… what did you think? πŸ˜‰

  3. Owen used to love Legos (we still have boxes and boxes of them in his bedroom closet), but this movie came out too late for him to enjoy it. He’s 10 now, and has moved on to Minecraft and Call of Duty. The sweet spot for a Lego movie is probably kids 3-8.

    • I guess you are politely saying I saw a movie intended for 8 yo’s but was duped into thinking it was a movie adults could like too.

      If so, you’d be right.

      Bugs Bunny and Sponge Bob are really funny, and they have cross over appeal for adults … I’d assumed it was something like that based on what I read on Rotten Tomatoes, but that was my mistake. πŸ™‚

      • Owen also loved the Xbox Video Lego games, BatMan Lego, Harry Potter Lego, etc. In the beginning, six, seven years ago, the Lego characters had no voices, and little text boxes would spring up when communication was needed. But Owen couldn’t read yet, so he was forever calling upstairs, “Dad! Dad! Read this!” He picked up a lot of reading skills from Lego. Also, a lot of Lego video play required teamwork to assemble and disassemble things and solve puzzles. So I have a lot of videogame Lego experience. Two years ago, a new Lego Superheroes game came out and I brought it home and Owen was unenthused, to say the least. They grow up fast. As parents, we learn to love things that our children quickly shed their affections for.

Leave a Reply

