Writers I’m Sleeping With

Writers I am Sleeping With

.

Sometimes it’s good to cuddle up with a writer in bed. Better yet, it’s good to cozy up to several. For now, I’ve decided to sleep with Stephen King, Etgar Keret and William T. Vollman. I tried to sleep with William Faulkner too, but he and I just weren’t seeing eye to eye, so he’s sitting on the bed but we’re not really together. (And I’m not holding it against him that he’s the one who’s dead, either.)

Each of these guys has something different to offer me as I get my brain back into “writing mode” (otherwise known as I made that up so I can trick myself into writing more.) Eh, reading helps me write.

In re-reading parts of King’s On Writing, I’m reminded of how funny some of the stories are in the autobiographical section of the book. The precision of King’s language amazes me, the images are powerful, whether he’s dropping a cinder block on his baby toes, or nearly getting electrocuted by his older brother Dave. The read creates so much pleasure; I could re-read that book many times and never tire of the stories.

I haven’t cracked open The Girl On the Fridge yet, but I’ve read other Keret story collections like The Nimrod Flipout and Suddenly, A Knock On the Door and really enjoyed them; they’re fun. So Keret and I were friends first, now he’s been promoted to a sleeping partner. I’m hopeful that “Girl” will be a worthwhile companion.

Finally, the complicated Mr. Vollmann. I began reading The Atlas earlier this year and explored the strange emotional landscape Vollmann inhabits in that collection of stories. I never finished the book, but I’m ready to spend more time with Vollmann again and given the nature of the content, the best place to read that book is in bed. (No, I’m not going to tell you more, you will have to find your own copy and explore the terrain on your own.)

Yes, blogging about my reading is another mechanism to get my writing juices flowing again too.

Another baby step forward.

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. I’d be curious to know what you thought of the Vollmann- I’m a big fan. The Atlas is probably the single book of his that best lends itself to night-time reading, there are some unforgettable vignettes and stories there.

    • I thought The Atlas was, in many respects, heartbreaking. Vollmann shows us a side of life in 3rd world countries that is not the typical fare of fiction, I’d say. In fact, The Atlas seems to lean heavily into the Creative Non-Fiction space. He doesn’t seem to want to disguise the fact that the stories are at least based on autobiographical experiences. However, I’m not a “qualified Vollmann scholar” because this is the only book of his that I’ve read. I picked up Europe Central in a bookstore and couldn’t make it through the first chapter. So I can’t offer an opinion on any other works he’s published.

Leave a Reply

