Just the stats ma’am: improving blog stats

Hit Me - a gratuitous shot of how sexy your blog would be if it had more visitors

Like most blog writers, I’m addicted to blog hits like a crystal meth-head addicted to crack. My “pipe” is that little skyscraper on my “Statistics” page going from 1 or 2 to 10 hits in a day. Once (just once) I actually got 66 hits on my blog in one day. I had posted something on a popular topic, I think it might have been my New Jersey Diner post.

I’ve tried all the stuff you’re supposed to do to make your blog more interesting:

  • putting an image at the top of the blog post
  • creating a snappy title (I could probably do a better job of that)
  • creating lists in the blog post
  • askingĀ  a question at the bottom of the post to engage the reader to respond
  • and using bolded text to call attention to stuff

I also go around to other people’s blogs and read them and participate in the blogging community. I scan the “Writing” tag page pretty consistently and click on anything that looks interesting. (I’ve met a lot of nice writers that way!)

On top of all that, I tweet my blog posts regularly and I used to do StumbleUpon for my blog posts but I found that I just wasn’t getting hits so I don’t do that as much anymore.

Regardless of what I do, I seem to have a consistent number of hits each month, somewhere between 250 – 290.

Who do I need to sleep with around here to up my blog stats?

Okay, maybe that won’t solve the problem, but seriously, what else are you power-bloggers out there doing that makes readers go nutty for your posts?

If you tell me to pick a different topic, we’re gonna come to blows on that, so don’t go there. This blog is about writing, and otherwise curmudgeonly activities of one particular writer.

But aside from that, I’m open to suggestions. Do you have any?

Hit me with your best shot.