Top 10 movies I’ve never seen

In doing all these lists, I realized there are still movies out there I haven’t seen from beginning to end that I probably should.  Some of these are big, famous films that I’ve somehow never gotten around to…and others I’ll have to admit I’ve avoided.

  • Gone with the Wind (I’ve just never been all that interested. I saw Dr. Zhivago and I thought “eh.” Zhivago seems 60’s and dated now, in my opinion.)
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s (I’ve seen parts, but not the whole thing from beginning to end. I’ve also never seen Charade or Roman Holiday either, oops)
  • The Maltese Falcon (Seen parts, but not the whole thing)
  • Last Tango in Paris (this was controversial at the time it came out, I remember that much)
  • Dial M for Murder and Strangers on a Train (which Throw Momma from the Train was based on, and I loved that comedy with Billy Crystal and Danny DeVito)
  • The Birth of a Nation (yeah, I know I “should” see it for historical reference purposes, I just never have…)
  • The Seventh Seal (the only reason I want to see this Ingmar Bergman flick is because Marty Scorsese and Woody Allen say it’s like the best movie of all time, but it seems like an acquired taste)
  • The 400 Blows (same as #7, Truffaut is one of those film makers I know I should watch)
  • Nashville (I love all things Altman, I’m embarassed to say I haven’t seen this one)
  • Dr. Strangelove (I’ve seen parts, of course everyone has seen the shot of that guy riding the bomb, but I’ve never seen the whole thing beginning to end.)

What movies should you see that you haven’t (yet)?

More Top Movies – Devastating Performances

I woke up this morning with my head swimming with movies I forgot to mention…fantastic movies that are crying out to be here, and again, I’m sure I could keep going and going… these dozen represent high water marks of talent and performance in my mind.

  1. Amadeus (Tom Hulce and of course F. Murray Abraham are amazing)
  2. Breaking the Waves (what an amazing performance by Emily Watson!)
  3. Marathon Man (Dustin Hoffman and Sir Lawrence Olivier, could you ask for more?)
  4. The Boys from Brazil (Gregory Peck is haunting)
  5. The Taking of Pelham 1-2-3 (the ORIGINAL with Walter Matthau thank you very much)
  6. Ocean’s 11 (not the original with Frank Sinatra, the new one with George, Brad, Matt and co. Okay, okay – lots of hunky guys who are easy on the eyes)
  7. Little Big Man (another incredible performance by Dustin Hoffman)
  8. Bound (Gina Gershon knocks it out of the park)
  9. The Big Chill (what a cast!)
  10. The Apartment (Jack Lemmon and Shirley MacLaine are delish)
  11. Gandhi (Ben Kingsley won the Oscar for this one, as he should have)
  12. Less Than Zero (Robert Downey Jr. is devastating in this, and it foreshadows aspects of his struggles with drugs in his own life…)